The Law of Diffusion of Innovation

A year ago, in a post, Inspiring Others to Action, I called attention to a TED talk by Simon Sinek on How Great Leaders Inspire Action. I go back to it now and then.

Today I want to point out a part of his talk that he referred to as “the law of diffusion of innovation.” You would have caught it if you listened all the way through. It begins eleven minutes into his presentation and he refers to groups of people on the adaptability scale.

Those of us at Cru15 this summer, were challenged in a number of ways. We probably should wonder how adaptable we are to the vision presented.

Do listen to his talk, especially to the critical part from 11:00-13:00 minutes.

Now lest you think I am one of the ones who “get it”, by personality, I rank myself in the early, and maybe even, late majority classification. But God has me in a place where I must be an early adapter.

Where do you see yourself on Sinek’s curve? And how does that bode for applying what you heard at Cru15?

(Simon Sinek is author of “Start With Why” and “Leaders Eat Last“.)

I am taking a two week break from these tips. I will start again on August 16. If in the meantime, you have new team members that you think would benefit from these, let me know and I can add them for another year of Good Monday Morning…

Tips in “A Better World” Series:

Leave a Reply

